Click on the logo below for the most complete Dirt Late Model coverage anywhere

For the Best RV Sales and Service


Rich's Articles & Blogs


« Like him or not, Kyle Busch has incredible skill | Main | Roush Yates Engines lead the field in Daytona 500 pole qualifying »

Bud Shootout eligibility to change in 2013

By admin | February 19, 2012

2012 Pole Winners, Past Event Winners Will Make Field

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Feb. 19, 2012) – NASCAR today released the eligibility requirements for the 2013 Shootout at Daytona, an announcement that signals a return to the fan-favorite preseason event’s roots.

Next season’s field will consist of 2012 Coors Light Pole winners and past Shootout winners who have attempted to qualify for at least one race during the 2012 season.

Eligibility rules for next season’s annual non-points race mirror those from 1979-2008, and puts greater emphasis on each weekend’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Coors Light Pole qualifying session.

“Fans have expressed their desire to see this event return to its original eligibility rules,” said Steve O’Donnell, NASCAR senior vice president of racing operations. “We listened and decided it would be best to return to the eligibility rules of years past adding further meaning to pole qualifying for each NASCAR Sprint Cup race.”

This announcement comes prior to 2012’s first qualifying session, adding intrigue to an already important event. Today’s fastest qualifier, in addition to winning the pole for next Sunday’s 54th Annual Daytona 500 (Feb. 26 at 1 p.m. on FOX), will also earn a spot in next year’s Shootout. Two Daytona 500 starting positions will be locked in after today’s qualifying session. The fastest two cars in qualifying will sit on the front row for The Great American Race.

Last night, Kyle Busch won his first Shootout at Daytona, locking up a spot in next year’s field. Busch passed defending series champion Tony Stewart in the tri-oval, edging the three-time titlist by a margin of victory of .013 seconds – the closest in Shootout history.

Last season, 18 different drivers won a pole.

Topics: Articles |

3 Responses to “Bud Shootout eligibility to change in 2013”

  1. Offkilter Says:
    February 19th, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    Thankfully its no longer the “busch clash” or we’d have to hear the talking heads in the booth endless drivel about it being the kyle busch clash. DW should ask for Kyle’s hand in marriage since there is an obvious infatuation there.

  2. Sue Rarick Says:
    February 20th, 2012 at 8:32 am

    As long as the fields going to be smaller it might be a great idea for Nascar to really bump up the prize money for the winner. Let’s say go from 200k to 500k.

    My bet is we’d see a lot more efforet to win a pole during the season.

  3. Sue Rarick Says:
    February 20th, 2012 at 8:32 am

    * effort