Click on the logo below for the most complete Dirt Late Model coverage anywhere

For the Best RV Sales and Service


Rich's Articles & Blogs


« What Does Trevor Bayne Do When He’s Not Racing? | Main | Bruton Smith and other leaders of the sport need to talk less and do more »

Coca-Cola 600 Quick Facts

By admin | May 20, 2013

 Kasey Kahne is the defending Coca-Cola 600 champion

By Richard Allen

The Coca-Cola 600 at the Charlotte Motor Speedway is one of NASCAR’s ‘Crown Jewel’ events. The race was first run in 1960 and was won by Joe Lee Johnson who earned just over $27,000 for the victory. Last year, the race was won by Kasey Kahne who pocketed over $355,000 for his efforts.

Coca-Cola 600 Quick Facts:

11 currently active drivers have won the Coca-Cola 600: Jeff Gordon(1994, 1997, 1998), Bobby Labonte(1995), Jeff Burton(1999, 2001), Matt Kenseth(2000), Mark Martin(2002), Jimmie Johnson(2003, 2004, 2005), Kasey Kahne(2006, 2008, 2012), Casey Mears(2007), David Reutimann(2009), Kurt Busch(2010), Kevin Harvick(2011)

Chevrolet leads all manufacturers with 21 wins in the Coke 600. Ford has 12 victories followed by Dodge with 8, Mercury with 4, Plymouth with 3, Buick with 2, Pontiac with 2 and Toyota with 1.

Darrell Waltrip has the most Coke 600 wins with five.

Four NASCAR champions won their first Sprint Cup Series race in the Coke 600: David Pearson(1961), Jeff Gordon(1994), Bobby Labonte(1995) and Matt Kenseth(2000).

Dale Earnhardt, Sr. made his first Sprint Cup start in the 1975 Coca-Cola 600.

Most cautions in Sprint Cup history: The 2005 event set a record for the most yellow flags in NASCAR’s top division with 22.

The Coke 600 has been cut short by rain on three occasions(1968, 2003 & 2009).

The 1997 Coke 600 was stopped short of its intended distance because of a 1:00am curfew following a rain delay.

In 1974 the race was shortened to 540 miles due to a fuel crisis.

1993 was the first time in which the race was run at night.

2011 is the only time the race has ever gone further than its intended distance due to a green/white/checkered finish.

155.687mph in 2012 by Kasey Kahne was the fastest average speed ever for the Coca-Cola 600. It took just over 3 hours and 51 minutes to complete the full race distance.

Darrell Waltrip has the most Coke 600 wins with five.

Fireball Roberts won the pole for the inaugural Coke 600 with a speed of 133.904mph. Last year, Aric Almirola posted a pole winning speed of 192.940mph.


Topics: Articles |

2 Responses to “Coca-Cola 600 Quick Facts”

  1. amazed Says:
    May 20th, 2013 at 10:18 pm

    And DW aka Jaws will not let us forget it!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. zhills fan Says:
    May 21st, 2013 at 5:49 am

    The “600″ is just tooooo long to keep my attention.