Click on the logo below for the most complete Dirt Late Model coverage anywhere

For the Best RV Sales and Service


Rich's Articles & Blogs


« Does Kyle Busch really believe what he said? | Main | It’s time to leave Indy behind »

Lucas Oil Late Models at Volunteer Speedway

By admin | July 2, 2008

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series $10,000-to-win ‘Toyota Tundra 60′ scheduled Saturday, July 5 at Volunteer Speedway

BULLS GAP, Tenn. — The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will be in action at Volunteer Speedway over the Fourth of July holiday weekend for the $10,000-to-win Toyota Tundra 60 presented by Rusty Wallace Toyota of Morristown on Saturday, July 5, with many of the top names in dirt late model racing expected to be present. Racing is also scheduled in the “Courtesy Chevrolet” Crate Late Model and ”Rusty Wallace Toyota” Hobby Stock divisions.

Headlining the list of drivers expected to be in action is Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn.; Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn.; Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, Fla. (2005, ‘06 and ‘07 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series national champion, driving for NASCAR Sprint Cup Series competitor Bobby Labonte); Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C.; Steve Casebolt of Richmond, Ind.; Bart Hartman of Zanesville, Ohio; Justin Rattliff of Campbellsville, Ky.; Dan Schlieper of Sullivan, Wis.; Scott James of Lawrenceburg, Ind.; Billy Drake of Bloomington, Ill.; Terry Casey of New London, Wis.; Freddy Smith of Seymour, Tenn.; Wayne Chinn of Bradford, Ohio; Brad Neat of Dunnville, Ky.; Ray Cook of Brasstown, N.C.; Michael England of Glasgow, Ky.; John Mason of Millersburg, Ohio; Eric Jacobsen of Sea Cliffe Beach, Calif.; John Gill of Mitchell, Ind.; Damon Eller of Crumpler, N.C.; Travis Greer of Marion, Va., plus many more.

Racers’ from around the East Tennessee region looking to take on the out-of-state invaders include four-time Volunteer Speedway track champion Vic “The Thrill” Hill of Morristown, Knoxville’s Rick Rogers, Shanon Buckingham of Morristown, Bristol’s Kerry Jones, Randy Weaver of Crossville, Knoxville’s Mark Douglas, Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Greeneville’s Jeff Maupin, Tommy Kerr of Maryville, Clinton’s Anthony White, Mike Smith of Rogersville, Knoxville’s Bryan Hendrix, Chad Ogle of Sevierville, Friendsville’s Mike Weeks; Steve Smith of Powell, Knoxville’s Herman Goddard, Shane Roberts of Bluff City, Kingsport’s John King II, Shon Flanary of Mount Carmel, Greeneville’s Michael Jackson, Joe Armes of Petros, Jonesborough’s Bobby Mays, Stacy Boles of Claxton, Powell’s Mark Vineyard, Roger Best of Maryville, along with several others.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series heat races, last chance B-mains and the $10,000-to-win Toyota Tundra 60 highlight the Saturday, July 5 racing program, along with features for Crate Late Models and Hobby Stocks.

Adult grandstand admission is $25, youth (ages 10-15) $5, with 9-and-under admitted free in the grandstands when accompanied by an adult. Pit admission and backside tier-parking $35 per person regardless of age.

The pit gate will open at 3 p.m. and the grandstand gate opens at 5 p.m. Hotlaps are tentatively scheduled to begin around 7:30 p.m., followed by qualifying and then racing action.

A huge fireworks show will illuminate the nighttime skies over “The Gap.” Volunteer Speedway is located just off Exit 23 (Bulls Gap/Greeneville) on Interstate 81.
***NOTE: With a large crowd expected and all available seating space needed for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event, no lawn chairs will be permitted in the grandstands. Only stadium seat-type cushions will be allowed. Also, no coolers or outside food permitted to be brought into the grandstands.
For information about the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, visit the Web site at or contact series Director Ritchie Lewis at (951) 532-2503.

Volunteer Speedway: (423) 235-5020

Track Office - Weekdays Only 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.: (423) 378-5942
Phyllis Loven (Track Owner): (423) 676-9081
Robert Walden-Media/Public Relations Director: (423) 928-9644

Topics: ET Racing |